University of California, Santa Cruz (Sept. 2019 - Aug. 2020)
M.S. in Science Communication

Princeton University (Sept. 2007 - Apr. 2014)
Ph.D. in Molecular Biology

California Institute of Technology (Sept. 2003 - June 2007)
B.S. in Biology

Professional Experience, Writing

San Francisco Chronicle (July 2022 - present)
Weather Science Data Reporter

National Cancer Institute (July 2021 - July 2022)
Communications Fellow with the Division of Cancer Prevention

Freelance (Dec. 2020 - July 2022)
Science Writer and Fact Checker

American Geophysical Union (Sept. 2020 - Dec. 2020)
Science Writing Intern

Science News (June 2020 - Sept. 2020)
Science Writing Intern

The Mercury News (March 2020 - June 2020)
Reporting Intern

Monterey Herald (Jan. 2020 - March 2020)
Reporting Intern

Stanford Medical School Public Affairs (Oct. 2019 - Dec. 2019)
Science Writing Intern

Professional Experience, Data

Clarity Insights (June 2017 - Sept. 2019)
Data Engineering Consultant on assignment at Facebook

Claraview, a Division of Teradata (July 2013 - June 2017)
Business Intelligence Consultant on assignment at Williams-Sonoma

Scientific Publications

Trovisco V, Belaya K, Nashchekin D, Irion U, Sirinakis G, Butler R, Lee JJ, Gavis ER, St Johnston D. bicoid mRNA localises to the Drosophila oocyte anterior by random Dynein-mediated transport and anchoring. Elife 5:e17537 (2016)
Full Text | Pubmed

Little SC, Sinsimer KS, Lee JJ, Wieschaus ER, Gavis ER. Independent and coordinate trafficking of single Drosophila germ plasm mRNAs. Nature Cell Biology 17, 558-568 (2015)
Full Text | Pubmed

Sinsimer KS, Lee JJ, Thiberge SY, Gavis ER. Germ plasm anchoring is a dynamic state that requires persistent trafficking. Cell Reports 5, 1169-1177 (2013)
Full Text | Pubmed

Bayer TS, Hoff KG, Beisel CL, Lee JJ, Smolke CD. Synthetic control of a fitness tradeoff in yeast nitrogen metabolism. Journal of Biological Engineering 3:1 (2009)
Full Text | Pubmed


2023 Online Journalism Awards
Finalist, Explanatory Reporting, Medium Newsroom
Stories with John Blanchard, Gerry Díaz, Hannah Hagemann and Yoohyun Jung